books

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Tate, an RN studying for her masters, moves to San Francisco to live with her brother Corden. The day Tate moves in she finds an inebriated Miles passed out against her brother’s apartment door. Miles and Corden are both airline pilots, good friends, and live in the same apartment complex.

Tate and Miles are attracted to each other, however Tate doesn’t have time for love and Miles doesn’t want love. They come to an agreement to have casual sex. Miles gives her two rules: “Don’t ask about my past, and never expect a future”, but the more time Tate and Miles spend together the more complicated things start to become.

What’s really unique about this book is the dual point of view. Tate’s chapters are in present day, and a majority of Miles’s chapters take place six years prior when he meets a girl named Rachel.

Quite a few people don’t like the writing style for Miles’s chapters, but I did. It sort of reminded me of Ellen Hopkins. Surprisingly I liked all the characters. The only thing that really bothered me was how obsessive Miles was about Rachel when they first met (and a thing mentioned in the spoilers).

The story was fast paced and kept me interested; I could have easily read it in one sitting, but held myself back. My favourite character was probably Cap, the older gentleman who ran the elevator at the apartment. Such a funny old man. ♥

I highly recommend this book. For those who are worried about the sex scenes, they’re not graphic and very “vanilla”.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS
Don’t read any further if you haven’t read the book yet.

There were times where I didn’t understand how or why Tate was falling for Miles since she didn’t know anything about him. And at the end when Miles goes to visit Rachel, if she hadn’t been happy would he have been able to move on? I just felt like that was completely ridiculous. I mean, what would he have done if she was still miserable? It’s awfully convenient for him that she’s happy so he could finally get closure and move on with Tate. I’m really glad Miles allowed himself to fall in love again. The ending with him and Tate getting married and having a baby was just really great considering what happened with him and Rachel.

Oh. When Miles walked out on Tate after having sex and slammed the door on her I was so angry, and when he called her Rachel during sex I was a bit disgusted with how Tate just laid there and let him finish. I know he was hurting, but still…

2 thoughts on “Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

