shows

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan)

attack-on-titan-video-game-information-leaked

Unless you’ve been living under a rock the past two years, you’ve probably heard of Attack on Titan/Shingeki no Kyojin.

Humankind has been brought to the brink of extinction by the Titans. Titans are giant humanoid creatures who eat humans just because they want to, they don’t need to eat to survive. The remaining survivors live behind three 50-meter walls: Maria, Rose, and Sina. After a century of peace, Titans appear and break Wall Maria and devour twenty percent of the human population.

Walls

The three main characters are Eren, Mikasa, and Armin. On the day of the attack, Eren and his adoptive sister Mikasa witness their mother get eaten by a Titan, Eren then swears to kill all the Titans. Eren, Mikasa and Armin join the military, and eventually the Survey Corps in hopes to reclaim Wall Maria and wipe out the Titans.

From left to right: Armin, Eren, and Mikasa.
From left to right: Armin, Eren, and Mikasa.

Eren has twice the determination of anyone and I didn’t find him cliché at all. Mikasa is an all-around badass and has dedicated herself to protecting Eren. Armin is weak and really has no talent outside his intelligence, but he’s so human. All the side characters-Levi, Jean, Annie, Connie, Sasha, Erwin, Hange Zoë, Petra, Dot Pixis, etc- are really great too. Levi is probably my favorite. ❤

So that’s a basic spoiler-free summary that doesn’t even begin to touch all the events that occur.

Attack on Titan did not disappoint at all, it lived up to the hype. I wish I hadn’t put it off for so long, but at the same time I’m glad I did because now I only have to wait a year for season two. I watched the entire first season in a day. I was glued to my tv. I didn’t even eat, I only got up to use the restroom during the title song (which is EPIC!), that’s how good it was. Almost every single episode ends on a cliffhanger and leaves you emotionally drained.

The animation is gorgeous, the music is phenomenal. Everything about this series is just outstanding. I was already invested into the story and the characters in the very first episode. I cried when Eren’s mother died. I don’t think I’ve ever been emotionally invested in a series so soon.

Attack on Titan has been added to my list of favorite anime. It’s a must watch for fans of anime and those who are new to it.

I must get my hands on the manga. *grabby hands*

Leave a Reply

