book review

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Goodreads Synopsis: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

blogdivider_full_width

I am obsessed with the idea of going on a road trip, especially if a cute boy is involved! I actually have some posts in my drafts about a road trip I’m planning.

I had been dying to read this book, then an old friend won a copy in a giveaway and let me borrow it. I had such high expectations, I hadn’t read very many negative reviews and my friend at the time absolutely loved it and said it was just as good as Anna and the French Kiss. (Yes, I compare every romance with Anna and the French Kiss. It’s seriously my favorite YA romance. Haha.)

There is nothing epic about this detour, besides the fact it was epically boring. This starts out really slow and the characters are very flat and awkward at first. It took me over a month to finish because I just couldn’t connect until about 3/4ths of the way.

A lot of things bothered me about this book. My biggest problem was how Amy’s mother left her home alone in her house for months while she was on the other side of the country. What mother does that?! Some other things that really bothered me were how stalkerish Roger was and how Amy’s brother was in rehab for pot.

I take that back, Rodger’s stalker behavior bothered me more than Amy’s mother. It was seriously creepy.

All around, I found this anticlimactic and VERY cliché. I don’t understand why characters in books close themselves off and don’t want to talk about things after something traumatic happens. Everyone I’ve ever known talks about their problems instead of tearing themself up on the inside.

The few things I enjoyed about this book? The scrapbook feel every now and then and the bits in Tennessee with Rodger’s ex girlfriend’s brother. The ending was okay, but meh.

So, a lot of you are probably wondering if I ever rate books 4-5 stars. I do, it’s just that I’m just really picky when it comes to books that have romance. I find that most fictional romances are more physical, and less emotional. I found this to be one of the books that focused on physical. In my eyes, the “romance” was purely lust and that was a major turn-off for me.

Rating:  tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq 

One thought on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. I was very excited to try any Morgan Matson book until this. I’ve had enough of cliche reads. Thanks for the heads up! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

