book review

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads Synopsis: She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before.

blogdivider_full_width

WARNING: THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THRONE OF GLASS AND CROWN OF MIDNIGHT.

Sarah J. Maas continues to build upon this incredible world completely blowing me away and making me beg for more… In Heir of Fire, you learn quite a bit about Celaena’s past. In the first book I almost couldn’t stand Celaena because of her arrogance. In the second book, she experienced some pretty tragic things, my heart aches for her… In this book, she’s broken and believes she is worthless, but she comes to terms with her past, grows, and fixes herself. Her character development is fantastic.

Chaol, sweet Chaol… My shipper heart weeps. I want nothing more than for him and Celaena to be together… and Dorian, I was so happy for him… His parts made me anxious, I just knew something bad was going to happen…

There were three more points of view added to this book. There were times I thought there were too many points of view, I would get into one story then it would suddenly end and I would have a hard time getting into the next point of view. The three new main characters are: Aedion; the king’s general, Manon; the “cruel and heartless” witch, and Rowan; the fae who is training Celaena.

Aedion is an important part of Celaena’s past, I really love him. Manon’s sections bored me silly… I’m really hoping her and Celaena become friends and I hope her parts in the next book aren’t so bleh. When Rowan first came along I was dreading a freaking love square, but it wasn’t. I really love his character and his friendship with Celaena. BROTP.

The story itself was a bit slow the first half, then it sucked me in. Next thing I know, I’m reading the last chapter with my jaw on the ground trying not to cry because book four isn’t out yet.

My Rating:  tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq 

One thought on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

