book review

Death Note, Vol. 5: Whiteout by Tsugumi Ohba

Title: Death Note, Vol. 5: Whiteout
Author: Tsugumi Ohba
Illustrator: Takeshi Obata
Published: May 2nd 2006
Genres:
 Manga, Supernatural, Mystery

Light forfeits his ownership of the Death Note after a week in prison and loses memories related to the Death Note. A new Kira from Yotsuba Corporations is killing people and Matsuda spies on a meeting and is caught. Matsuda acts as Misa’s manager and later escapes by faking his death by jumping off the building.

L has his allies Wedy and Aiber, a burglar and a con man, help in his investigation.

This volume bored me silly. It took me two days to read it. Now that Light isn’t killing people I feel like the action has died down and it’s nothing but dialogue now.

I really missed the death gods. Had I not watched the anime, I would have probably stopped at vol 3 or 4 but I’m pushing through because I know that it does get better. I forgot the middle section was a bit lackluster for me.

My favorite part was…

death-note-90122

I was planning on reading the entire manga series this week, but I think I’m going to give it a break so I don’t burn myself out.

Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq

4 thoughts on “Death Note, Vol. 5: Whiteout by Tsugumi Ohba

    1. Haha, I’m still a WordPress noob. I didn’t get a tag notification and the blog you commented with doesn’t have anything. Help? lol

      Like

      1. Ah sorry I’m still a complete noob too , I may have linked it wrong , if you go to my second most recent post on my blog page which is ‘day 3’ all the info is on there for you, sorry about my lack of computing abilities lol , if you still can’t find it please let me know and I’ll try to help as best as I can😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

