book review · books

End of Days by Susan Ee

Goodreads Synopsis: After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?

blogdivider_full_width

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Originally this was supposed to be a five book series I planned on stopping after the second book, but since there was only one more left, and they’re fairly short, I decided to finish. Do I regret my decision? Yes. This will probably be the last book with angels (aside from Cassandra Clare’s books) I ever read. I don’t know how much more eye rolling I can take before I go blind.

If you follow me or are my friend on Goodreads, you know it took me well over a week to read End of Days. This was a very disappointing finale. I struggled through the middle section, it got to the point where I almost wasn’t going to finish the book.

Penryn changed so much throughout the series. She went from caring about her family to swooning over Raffe. Girl, there are more important things to worry about during an apocalypse than your sexual desires. How about you worry about your poor little sister who was completely mutilated and help her find a way to feed without harming anyone instead of thinking she’s a freak?

Towards the very beginning Raffe and Penryn are sleeping in the same bed, Penryn grabs Raffe’s arm while he’s asleep and moves his hand up to her breast. This bothered me A LOT and made me lose all respect for Penryn. If the roles were reversed readers would be chasing Raffe with torches and pitchforks. It really bothered me how sexual the “romance” was because the age difference (if she was in her twenties or older it wouldn’t have bothered me, but she’s seventeen!) and the fact it came out of nowhere. Why is an ancient angel even attracted to a teenage girl in the first place?

This book was weak and generic, and the ending was anticlimactic. The end battle scene was lame. I’m a bit disappointed how Raffe ended up having his wings cut off so he could be with Penryn. And what was with that talent show?

I want to know more about Penryn’s mother and sister Paige. If I recall correctly, Penryn’s mother’s mental state is never really described in-depth. I vaguely remember a scene in one of the previous books with her and a demon… Why can Paige control the locusts? That was never mentioned either. There were too many questions left unanswered.

The actual ending itself makes me think there might be a spinoff or something in the future, since there wasn’t enough closure.

Meh… At least I can start Outlander now.

Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq

Leave a Reply

