book review

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Goodreads Synopsis: Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

blogdivider_full_width

Queen of Shadows has me so upset that I needed a short contemporary romance to forget about it for a while. Since I loved Ugly Love so much, I decided to go for a Colleen Hoover book. When I first started reading Slammed, I had intended on reading a chapter or two before going to bed… I ended up reading 60%. Oops.

At first, Slammed made me cringe. Layken and Will have a very strong attraction to each other. They moved way too fast for me after their first date. Not because they kissed or any of that, but because the way Layken acted, especially after the spoilery thing I won’t mention until after the cut below. They had known each other for less than a week and there was so much instalove.

Layken has a great relationship with her mother, and an excellent relationship with her little brother Kel, who is nearly ten years younger than her. This goes for Will and his little brother Caulder as well. The family dynamics in this book are amazing. It’s really great to see older siblings who are close with their significantly younger siblings.

Layken’s new friend Eddie is so sweet. Her pink balloon poem and what all her friends did for her on her 18th birthday was beautiful and made me tear up a bit.

This book is so beautiful and full of so many important life lessons. Colleen Hoover is an excellent author and I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of her books. They make you laugh and cry and everything in between.

The rest of what I have to say about the book is a spoiler. So if you don’t want to be spoiled and know why Will and Layken’s relationship had to be put to a halt, and what the heartbreaking subplot is, don’t read below!

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq

Will is Layken’s teacher. He shouldn’t have kissed her at all after finding out he was her teacher. His “weak” moments were a bit immature. He’s such a tease, I wanted to slap him.

Layken’s mother has lung cancer. That threw me off. When Layken first found out she threw a fit, treated her mom poorly, and went to Will’s. That scene at Will’s was just weird to me. Then Eddie came over. When Layken let her in I freeeeaked.

Overall, I think Colleen Hoover handled the cancer subject well. The forbidden teacher/student love affair wasn’t as extreme as I thought it would be, which was awesome. I was afraid they were going to have sex and Will would get fired.

Really looking forward to finishing up the trilogy.

2 thoughts on “Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

