book review

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads Synopsis: Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

blogdivider_full_width

After posting my little rant about QOS a few weeks ago, I decided to give the book a break and try to get myself to calm down. I wanted to give up and not finish, but I pushed through. Was it worth it? In my 100% honest opinion… No.

The story was very sloppy and the characters… Oh my gosh, the characters are completly different. I couldn’t connect to any of them. I don’t like Rowan/Aelin as a romantic couple, I haven’t liked Manon since the moment she was introduced, and SJM destroyed Chaol to the point where he was unlikable. Celaena went by Aelin and decided since she was going by her real name that she needed a completely new personality. She went from arrogant and annoying to an even more arrogant and annoying cruel jerk who only cared about having sex with Rowan a majority of the time. Rowan went from total badass to lovesick puppy, and personally kind of creepy in my book.

EDIT: I forgot about Lysandra. I actually found her interesting and not annoying at all. I really enjoyed her character and the potential relationship she may have with Aedion.

It took over 60% of the book for things to get somewhat interesting, and even then I didn’t feel like it was worth reading. Everyone I’ve talked to about QOS told me, “Push through! It’s worth it for the last 100 pages!” Now listen up, I don’t want to read ~700 pages that are either a serious snoozefest or beyond frustrating just for the last 100 pages. I want every single page to suck me in and keep my interest. I don’t want to struggle through 600 pages for an “epic” finale that honestly wasn’t that epic.

I’m really crushed and upset because this series started out really great and was one of my favourites, now I absolutely hate it. I have zero interest in reading the rest of the series now. It left such a bad taste in my mouth.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq

TWO STARS IS GENEROUS. If you’ve given up on the series but still want to know what happened in this book, I put some spoilers below.

  • Lysandra killed Arboynn.
  • Manon and Aelin finally met… I personally think they’ll join forces in the end.
  • Chaol is now in a wheelchair. He distracted the king while Aelin saved Dorian, at first you think he’s dead, then he isn’t.
  • Dorian was saved and killed his father. Oh and Dorian and Manon might be a thing?
  • The King wasn’t the *real* bad guy. He was actually enslaved by the Valg and Erawan is living within Duke Perrington.
2 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

