book review

Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K Vaughan, Illustrated by Fiona Staples

Goodreads: When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

blogdivider_full_width

I read Brian K. Vaughan’s series Y: The Last Man a few years ago and loved it. It’s one of my favourites, whether or not someone is a fan of graphic novels, I recommend it to everyone looking for something new to read. I was going to wait until Saga was finished so I could binge read it all at once, but I keep seeing/hearing people talk about it so I had to see what the hype was… This was totally unexpected and weird, but in a good way. I hate myself for not starting it sooner.

The art is beautiful, so many vibrant colors. The characters are so creepy/unique looking, and the storyline is fast paced. There’s humanoid creatures with horns and wings, hot pink ghosts, giant sphynx cats who can tell if people are lying, a royal family with computer monitors/tv sets for heads, and a spider lady. Imagine a centaur woman, but with a giant spider body instead of a horse body. It’s wild and one of a kind!

Alana and Marko, who are pictured on the cover, are cute, funny, and a very rare realistic portrayal of a couple. They balance each other out perfectly. All the characters are very three dimensional. I feel like I’m already attached to some of the characters. There are some other subplots going on too, not once was I confused about what was happening. Oh, and having Hazel (the baby) as the narrator was pretty neat! I’m really excited to continue reading this series!

There is swearing and full frontal nudity, so I wouldn’t recommend this if that sort of thing makes you uncomfortable.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq

2 thoughts on “Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K Vaughan, Illustrated by Fiona Staples

Leave a Reply

