book review · books

Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

Goodreads: There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

blogdivider_full_width

I really didn’t enjoy books 10, 11, and 12, but I did enjoy this one. It had the same feel as the books I loved, and it started to make me feel really sad that the series was ending. My biggest problem, aside from the whole Eric thing, was how things dragged on and on.

After I read Twilight in 2007, my dad went to the bookstore and asked a lady working there for some book recommendations, she handed him the seven book box set for the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Mysteries, so that was one of my Christmas presents that year. Of course, had my dad known he was about to give his fifteen year old daughter some books with lots of graphic sex, he probably wouldn’t have bought them. Haha! I’m really glad he did get them because it gave my mother, sister, and I something to bond over.

So, in Dead Ever After you find out who Sookie ends up with. I don’t remember where I read it, but I know I was still in school at the time, so it was ~5+ years ago, but Charlaine Harris did an interview where she said something like if Sookie was her daughter she wouldn’t marry a vampire, which was her basically saying “Sookie isn’t going to end up with Bill or Eric.” (My mom brought it up frequently while we read the books published after that interview.)

A lot of people are upset because Sookie didn’t end up with who they thought she would end up with. I was upset at first, because I had invested so much time into a series that wasn’t going to end how I thought it would, but I got over it.

After reading After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse, which has little snippets about every single character who was ever in the series, I feel pretty content with everything. I’m a bit disappointed about a few things that happened to some side characters, but I feel good with how things wrapped up for Sookie, Sam, Bill, and Eric.

I’m undecided if I will read any spin-offs, and I definitely won’t be watching the show. I watched the first season when it was on TV and hated it.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq

Leave a Reply

