books

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Goodreads: Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

blogdivider_full_width

I felt like an idiot when I first started reading this because I kept having to look words up on my Kindle. Once I got used to the vocabulary and things picked up (and the scenes between Alexia and Lord Maccon became more frequent and steamy *winks*), I couldn’t put my Kindle down! It was such a fun, unique, and interesting story that kept me on the edge of my seat and made me laugh out loud multiple times.

Alexia is sassy, smart, and hilarious. She is a twenty-six year old big nosed and tan spinster with strong features, her family makes her feel insecure and worthless because she doesn’t meet society’s idea of beauty. Although she is soulless, she does have morals. So if that concept bothers you, don’t worry! She’s not some heartless barbarian.

Lord Maccon is the kind of fictional male I love reading about. Not to mention he’s really tall and Scottish. *fans self*

Alexia’s vampire friend Lord Akeldama is adorable and funny. His scenes were some of my favourites.

The side characters, like Lyall, Ivy, and Alexia’s family all seemed interesting. I’m sure since there are other books after this that they’ll all play bigger roles, I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with them!

The story was a bit predictable at times, and every now and then things would slow down, but it was still enjoyable and I still wanted to keep reading instead of setting it down and taking a break.

The one thing that did bother me about this book? The long descriptions of clothing and food.

This reminded me a lot of Southern Vampire Mysteries/Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood and a little bit out Outlander. So if you like one or both of those, check this series out!

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq 

5 thoughts on “Soulless by Gail Carriger

Leave a Reply

