books

Heartless by Gail Carriger

Goodreads: Lady Alexia Maccon, soulless, is at it again, only this time the trouble is not her fault. When a mad ghost threatens the queen, Alexia is on the case, following a trail that leads her deep into her husband’s past. Top that off with a sister who has joined the suffragette movement (shocking!), Madame Lefoux’s latest mechanical invention, and a plague of zombie porcupines and Alexia barely has time to remember she happens to be eight months pregnant.

Will Alexia manage to determine who is trying to kill Queen Victoria before it is too late? Is it the vampires again or is there a traitor lurking about in wolf’s clothing? And what, exactly, has taken up residence in Lord Akeldama’s second best closet?

blogdivider_full_width

This is a hard one to talk about without spoiling anything. Not only do we learn more about Alexia’s father, but we learn about Lyall’s past too. I’m a bit disappointed in Lyall and Madame Lefoux, and the new living arrangements is odd to me. And poor Biffy… 😦

For once, this book didn’t revolve around Alexia getting attacked over and over again. It was very Sherlock Holmes. Alexia wanted to keep the peace amongst the supernatural beings and was constantly up and about, even though she had a sore ankle and was very pregnant.

Gail Carriger’s sense of humor and writing style are superb. There’s a pretty big twist in this that caught me by surprise, and I started book five immediately after reading the last page.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq 

4 thoughts on “Heartless by Gail Carriger

  1. I really liked the Parasol Protectorate series! A friend of mine introduced it to me a few months ago and after she let me borrow the first book I blazed through the rest when I had the chance. Her sense of humor really gets me laughing, and I love the way she twisted the idea of vampires and werewolves in Victorian England. Don’t you think the juxtaposition of the wildness of the supernatural and the regulation of Victorian society an interesting idea?

    I’ve picked up some of her other books and recently started reading her YA Finishing School series. I’ve only read the first book so far, but Carriger’s humor is still going strong! We also see a bit more of the steampunk aspect in that series I think, but I don’t want to spoil anything by saying too much if you haven’t read it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I plan on reading the Finishing School series and the Custard Protocol duology in a few months, closer to the release of the second book in the Custard Protocol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

