blogging · books

Settings I Want to See More Of

1) Victorian Steampunk

I’ve only read one Victorian steampunk series before, and that was the Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger. I just want to see more badass women in beautiful victorian dresses with guns, and dapper goofy gentlemen trying to court them.

2) Futuristic Earth

Robots, flying cars, and super duper advanced technology, but no dystopian elements.

3) Spaceship life (like Battlestar Galactica, Star Trek, etc)

I need more space books, dang it. The only series that comes to mind is Across the Universe by Beth Revis. I want space ships exploring galaxies. Aliens and humanid robots are good too.

4) Mermaids and Under the Sea Ocean Life

I want an entire book that takes place in the ocean. I’ve never read one before, recommend one if something comes to mind?

5) South American, African, and Asian Historical Fiction

Do you know the movie Apocalypto? (It’s one of my favourites, watch it if you haven’t) I would really like to see some Mayan, Inca, and/or Aztec historical fiction. (I bet Rick Riordan will do something sooner or later). I would also like to see some light shed on Africa, the Middle East, and eastern Asia.


If you’d like to take part in Top 5 Wednesday, join the Goodreads group, and add your name to the list of bloggers & booktubers!

11 thoughts on “Settings I Want to See More Of

  1. On the Mayan note, have you ever seen Darren Aronofsky’s film ‘The Fountain’? It stars Hugh Grant and Rachel Weis as lovers at three points in history. They story spans a thousand years and is…weird…and confusing. But AFTER you sort it all out it’s beyond beautiful. They use a lot of Mayan mythology in there.

    Great list too! I thought this topic was a little tricky but I loved your choices.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope you enjoy it! Full disclosure, after I saw it the first time I had to think about it for about 24hrs before I was ready to talk about it. There’s A LOT to untangle by way of plot and symbolism. But I think it’s worth the challenge!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. For Asian historical fiction you should check out In the Shadow of Banyan by Vaddey Ratner
    And even though it isn’t steampunk per say, it does take place in the Victorian era … you should check out These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

