book review

The Trouble with Faking by Rachel Morgan

Goodreads: After a stupid miscommunication, everyone in Andi’s new res thinks she’s secretly dating Damien, boyfriend of resident queen bee Charlotte. Since the rumour’s already out there and refuses to be squashed, Andi and Damien decide to keep up the facade in the hopes of snagging the attention of the people they really want to be with. Brilliant plan, right? Especially since Damien is the guy Andi’s always wanted. But now there’s Mike, the guy Andi’s pretending to be interested in for the sake of the fake relationship plan, and Noah, Damien’s annoying best friend—who is so not Andi’s type—and suddenly the plan isn’t looking so brilliant anymore.

My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq 1/2

blogdivider_full_width

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

These books are companion books, each book follows a new main character.

Andi was a bit annoying at times, especially the first third of the book. I like how she was a BookTuber and had an Etsy shop selling bookish handmade goods. Her style reminded me a lot of Lola from Stephanie Perkin’s book Lola and the Boy Next Door.

Damien was boring. We’re never given that much info on him to fully understand Andi’s infatuation with him. I also don’t recall his physical features being described?

I really liked Noah! He’s probably my favourite male in all of Rachel Morgan’s contemporary books. I loved the scene with his family, I wish there had been at least one more.

I’m really glad this wasn’t cliché! I was kind of afraid it would be, but it wasn’t! I’m very satisfied with the ending, and with the cute BookTube recording scenes. *sigh*

The reasons this gets a 3.5 instead of a 4 is because the surroundings and people’s appearances aren’t described all that often, so I couldn’t properly picture Andi’s friends or their surroundings.

Leave a Reply

