book review · books

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Goodreads: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

blogdivider_full_width

I’ve been afraid to read ACOTAR for a while. After seeing countless 4 and 5 star reviews and the ridiculously high ratings for the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, I decided it was time to get over my fear of disappointment and figure out what the hype was about.

A Court of Thorns and Roses definitely went above and beyond my expectations. I tried not to compare ACOTAR to Throne of Glass, but I couldn’t help it. I think ACOTAR is significantly better than Throne of Glass.

I absolutely adored the plot! For those who don’t know, this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling with faeries. Faeries are hardly ever written about, and if they are, it’s difficult to find a good book about them.

tumblr_nnisy0ZRXe1u0il5ao1_1280I really liked Feyra, despite her ability to get nerves with her lack of common sense every other page. Her family dynamics made me uncomfortable at first, and later on they didn’t feel right. It just felt odd, almost like it was a different family.

Sarah J. Maas is known for two things: Love squares/hexagons/etc, and weird names. Tamlin was a bit boring, and a massive control freak at times. Who I really liked was Lucien. Am I the only one who ships Feyra with him? Rhys is the type of guy I’d usually root for, but I didn’t like his behavior at times. I’m going to have a hard time looking past it in the sequel.

I’m really excited to start A Court of Mist and Fury this weekend. I almost wish I didn’t have plans for Saturday so I could stay home and read! I really hope SJM doesn’t ruin these characters like she did with the Throne of Glass characters.

7 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

  1. Great review! I’m glad you liked it, I was afraid to read this series after Throne of Glass, but its much better. I liked Lucien’s character as well, and somehow, Tamlin did not bother me in this book at all. But of course, SJM does like to change the direction and characters representations quite often, so I cannot wait to hear your thoughts on the second book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

