blogging · books

August Wrap-Up + September TBR

This year has gone by insanely fast! I can’t believe it’s September already. The leaves are already starting to fall here in my wee town in the mid-west. Christmas and my birthday will be here before I know it!

What I read in the month of August… (Click the title to go to my review)

  1. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (3 out of 5 stars)
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (4 out of 5 stars)
  3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (5 out of 5 stars)
  4. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier (2 out of 5 stars)
  5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (1 out of 5 stars)
  6. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (3 out of 5 stars)

What I watched… 

rsz_chuck

I finally finished watching Chuck. I was a bit disappointed with the last few episodes. Overall, the show gets a 4 out of 5 star rating from me. Casey is my favourite character. ❤

After finishing Chuck, I started watching season four of Orange is the New Black to try to fill the gaping hole in my chest.

I found this season of OITNB to be really boring. There wasn’t much to the plot aside from the garden and the new douche cops (being vague to avoid spoilers), and there was hardly any character development. I probably won’t be watching season five, but we shall see.

September TBR:
9tbrI’m experiencing a bit of a slump/burnout due to reading five books in the first two weeks of August. I also kind of feel like no book will ever add up to the perfection that is A Court of Mist and Fury. Because this wonderful slump makes me have zero motivation to read, I’m not expecting to read much in September. :/

The Star-Touched Queen is 342 pages (I’m currently 21%), The Forbidden Wish is 352 pages, and Empire of Storms is 704 pages. If by some mariacle I do read all three of those books and get out of my slump, I’ll be reading something from this shelf over on Goodreads.

I’m really nervous about Empire of Storms. Sarah J. Maas’s books are either hit or miss with me. I’m also kind of upset because someone didn’t tag their spoilers on Tumblr. 😦

blogdivider_full_width

P.S. Say hello to my new elvish nephew.

14045543_1745974872356574_5119822745847127060_n

2 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up + September TBR

Leave a Reply

