blogging

Unpopular Opinion Tag

Thank you Giovanna for tagging me in this!

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

I can’t decide if I want to say The Raven Boys, Eleanor and Park, Hopeless, or Daughter of Smoke and Bone for this… Because I hate them all equally.

I think I’ll choose Eleanor & Park. E&P was a very shallow read that had SO much potential. Rainbow Rowell barely skimmed on real issues that more YA books need to discuss, such as getting help with the family issues Eleanor faced, and not being privileged middle class. Instead she made it into some lame first “love” story with zero character development and zero climax. She also didn’t touch on the racial issues the POC faced during that time.

2. A popular book that everyone hates but you love.

Dioramas: A Love Story, it’s not a book, but a graphic novel. It’s about a serial killer that is in love with an ex-cop and leaves staged deaths for her. It’s really weird and creepy!

3. A love triangle where your ship did not sail.

I’m very upset about Sookie and Eric, and Chaol and Celaena… Don’t even get me started on Chaolaena. I could write a mile long post about how angry I am about them not being endgame.

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for.

Contemporary romance, mostly because I always find the romances problematic, toxic, and unrealistic. A lot of them normalize abusive relationships. Family dynamics in YA contemporary also annoy me.

5. A beloved character you didn’t like.

Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series. She’s supposed to be this badass assassin, but all she ever does is talk about fashion, boys, and herself. Not to mention she’s arrogant and annoying as all get out. Please die in the last book.

6. A popular author you can’t get into.

Maggie Stiefvater.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

I don’t mind reading some book tropes, as long as they’re done well. However, I’m getting really tired of THE CHOSEN ONE. Plain Jane average girl discovers a supernatural world or some organization through a beautiful and arrogant male and finds out she has abilities no one else does and has to save the world.

8. A popular book series you have no interest in reading.

Before everyone and their mom told me to read The Raven Boys this summer, that would have been the answer to this, but I caved in and read that terrible book… So now my answer is The Selection series because it’s described as a dystopian version of The Bachelor.

9. An adaptation you like better than the book.

Oh… This is a hard one. Books are almost always better than the adaptions. I think Coraline? Maybe?

(I’ve had this in my drafts for months waiting for someone to tag me, haha.)

Tag, You’re It!:

Leave a Reply

