blogging

Books I Read Because They Were Recommendations

rsz_recently_updated1

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

  1. Eragon by Christopher PaoliniEragon was the “it” book when I was in middle school. So many kids recommended it to me, and my brother’s high school English teacher either read it with his class, or recommended it to my brother, who then recommended it to me.
  2. The Lovely Bones by Alice SeboldMy 8th grade English teacher recommended The Lovely Bones to me. I lived half a mile away from the school, and I stopped walking to and from school after reading this book. Thanks a lot, Mrs. Sullens.
  3. The Da Vinci Code by Dan BrownThere was a lot of hype surrounding this book in 2005/2006. I don’t remember if it was my mom or brother who told me to read it. I bet they regretted it because I started watching and reading into the Illuminati, conspiracy theories, etc. Haha. I don’t do that anymore!
  4. Crank by Ellen HopkinsMultiple girls I went to school with recommended Crank to me when they’d spot me in the library.
  5. The Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanA friend who was in my Appreciation of Literature class handed The Lightning Thief to me and told me to read it, no matter what. Thank you for introducing me to one of my favourite series of all times.
  6. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick NessMany moons ago I had a Xanga and made a post asking for book recommendations, The Knife of Never Letting Go was one of them.
  7. Glass Houses by Rachel CaineMy mom recommended The Morganville Vampires series to me because of her love for the crazy vampire scientist Myrnin. (This is a web series on YouTube, btw)
  8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: Cinder was another book my mom recommended to me shortly after it was published. I really need to re-read it and finish the series!
  9. Twisted by Laurie Halse AndersonA longterm childhood best friend told me to read Twisted. I read it in one sitting and finished it in the wee hours of the night/early morning before my first day of culinary school. Oops.
  10. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra BrackenA friend recommended The Darkest Minds to me a few years ago saying it was “the best book they’ve ever read.”
6 thoughts on “Books I Read Because They Were Recommendations

Leave a Reply

