blogging · books

October Wrap Up & November TBR

I started off October with The Winner’s Curse, which I gave 3 out of 5 stars to. My biggest issue was the lack of world building, telling not showing, and zero romance build up.

After The Winner’s Curse, I picked up The Girl of Fire and Thorns, which went above and beyond my expectations! I devoured the book in two days and immediately needed to finish the series. I read  The Crown of Embers and The Bitter Kingdom back to back. If you like fantasy, or you’re looking for POC characters, please read this trilogy ASAP.

When I was about to start The Girl of Fire and Thorns Stories, I got an email asking if I wanted to read and review The Trouble With Falling. Heck yes I did!

After taking a couple of days off from reading, I read/listened to The Ruins of Gorlan (wasn’t a fan), and the rest of The Girl of Fire and Thorns Stories. If you read The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, read the novellas after.

What I Watched:

This month, I watched season two of iZombie, and season one of Shameless (U.S.) on Netflix.

I really like iZombie so far. I’m hoping CW doesn’t ruin it like it has other shows in the past. It’s weird and funny, plus Rahul Kohli is SO freaking cute! I wasn’t a fan of Shameless. I don’t like watching things about drugs, alcoholism, etc, but thought I’d give it a try since everyone has been talking about it lately.

November TBR:
rsz_recently_updated
I didn’t start The Hound of Rowan in October, so I’m bumping that to November. I want to read Passenger, And I Darken, It Ends With Us, and This Savage Song before getting to The Hound of Rowan because they’re all 2016 releases and the Goodreads Choice Awards are coming up.

Things that made me happy that I feel like sharing:

14691023_1772930079661053_7677630046892438647_n

The days have been 60-70F, so my dog Sadie and I have been taking long walks with Piper, Magnus, and Gene.

14716056_1775174849436576_860333165010412757_n

I’ve spent the past few Saturdays cuddling my nephew. 🙂

Leave a Reply

