book review

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Goodreads: Sometimes the one who loves you is the one who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
blogdivider_full_widthThis is the first out of three books this month I’ve been able to finish!

I’ve been pretty disappointed with Colleen Hoover lately. I really loved Slammed and Ugly Love, but all the others I’ve read, so far, especially November 9 and Hopeless, just haven’t sat with me well. I had a hard time getting into this book until around 30% because I just didn’t like Ryle AT ALL. A read a few non-spoilery reviews about how everyone loved him. Why? Seriously, explain to me why you liked him. CoHo’s male love interests are always gross in some way or another, and literally all of them have been some form of abusive. There are some brief spoilers at the bottom on why I didn’t like him.

Anything past the second half of the first chapter would be a spoiler, so I really don’t want to talk about too much of the book. I will say, this book contains an important subject and has sensitive material (rape and abuse). It’s not a light and fluffy read.

What I liked about the book?
– Lily’s best friend Allysa. She’s fun, quirky, smart, and a really great character as a whole.
– Atlas’ stories in the journal. They were probably my favourite part. I wish there were more entries.

What I didn’t like:
– Ryle’s character since the very beginning, he gave me disgusting f**k boy vibes.
– Ryle and Lily’s relationship developed WAY too fast.
– I couldn’t connect to any of the characters.

*Spoilers*

Maybe it’s because I’m not part of the hookup culture, and I don’t trust guys who just want causual sex. No matter how attractive or rich a guy is, it’s not flattering for them to say they want to have sex with you a few minutes after meeting. What made Ryle even worse was when he knocked on 29 doors to find Lily, dropped to his knees and begged her to have sex with him. Who does that?

One thought on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

