book review

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Goodreads: Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

blogdivider_full_width

“Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.”
“Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.”

This was my first Victoria/V.E. Schwab book. I’ve seen her name and raving reviews for her books all over Goodreads, Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, WordPress, etc.

It took me three tries to get into this book. The main female character Kate is such an annoying and rebellious brat. Her first chapter was so off-putting. Once I got past my dislike for her, the first half of the book was really enjoyable. At one point I thought maybe it would be a 4-star read… Then the second half happened.

During the second half, I started getting bored because it started to feel like every other YA book. And the ending? Huge cliffhanger, but not enough to make me want to read the second book.

What I liked:
– Multiple points of view, which is always a good thing.
– The whole monster thing was pretty unique, but poorly executed IMO.
– No romance, but potential for it. The author called it Romeo and Juliet without the romance.

What I didn’t like:
– Kate is your typical YA cookie cutter protagonist, and a huge brat.
– August is your mysterious tall, dark, and handsome artist cliché.
– Lack of world building.
– Lack of character development and zero personalities.
– I’m not a huge fan of third person POV, but that’s just a preference .
– Dystopian aspects, again that’s just a preference. Things get overused.
– Lots of people said this was creepy… I didn’t get creeped out once?
– It wasn’t dark and gritty like I was hoping it would be. 😦

Victoria Schwab is a good storyteller, and I for sure plan on reading some of her other books. From what I’ve read, this seems to be her weakest book so far?

5 thoughts on “This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

  1. I had a similar experience with this book. There was so much hype, but I had a hard time getting into it, largely because of the characters. But I just read Schwab’s The Archived and it’s sequel, and was pleased to have a much more positive experience with these books, especially in regards to the characters. Unfortunately there is no indication that the third book in the trilogy will be hitting shelves anytime soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was also my first read by this author, although I ended up loving it and wanting to check out her adult books. Hope your future experiences with her books will be a lot more enjoyable! 😛

    – Lashaan

    Like

  3. I haven’t read this yet (will eventually) but I wonder if this story is naturally the more weaker feeling one (?( or simply exudes a more juvenile approach in characterizations due to the intent of the characters within the story. Although that could be just a cop-out of a reason. Just some stray thoughts haha.

    Like

  4. I’m glad to see that I wasn’t the only one disappointing by this book, haha. This was also (and still is) the first Victoria Schwab book I’ve read, and I’ve ALSO seen people rave about her work like…everywhere. I think that may be part of the reason why I was disappointed…my expectations were WAY too high. That being said, I will read the sequel because I want to know what happens, and I will also give her A Darker Shade of Magic series a try 😀

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

