books

T5W: Series That Got Worse with Each Book

rsz_recently_updated2

1) Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I enjoyed the first book, Throne of Glass, and Crown of Midnight (book 2) is my favourite in the series. Things went downhill for me during Heir of Fire, and I didn’t enjoy The Assassin’s Blade and marked it DNF.

I decided to read Queen of Shadows, despite my dislike for Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s blade. Queen of Shadows is probably the worst book in the series, in my opinion. Originally, I wasn’t going to read Empire of Storms, but I changed my mind last-minute.

Empire of Storms started to redeem the series for me, then it did a 180 and annoyed me again. I’ve invested so much time into the series, I’m going to read book six whenever it comes out.

It’s really weird how I love A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury, but hate Throne of Glass. I’m kind of afraid that Sarah J. Maas will ruin ACOTAR for me

Every time I make a post about my dislike for the Throne of Glass series I ALWAY get a hateful comment. Once, when I was still active on Tumblr, I got a death threat for not liking Rowan. Everyone has different tastes, please do not be hateful. They’re just books.

rsz_recently_updated4

2) Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

It’s been over seven years since I read The Vampire Diaries. I remember liking the first two books in the first bind up. The third and fourth books in the second bind up were weird, and boring. I don’t remember the fifth book at all, but I remember hating it. I remember the sixth book, because it was weird and made me uncomfortable, but I don’t remember why.

rsz_1recently_updated4

3) Matched trilogy by Ally Condie

At the time, Matched was really unique and original to me. I think I rated it 4 out of 5 stars? Crossed suffered from horrible middle book syndrome, and Reached was one giant WTF.

rsz_2recently_updated4

4) House of Night series by PC and Kristin Cast

I started reading this series in high school and devoured the first four books in a week. When the fifth book came out, I was really excited… Only to be seriously let down. I read Tempted, Burned, and Awakend, but decided to stop after that. I couldn’t take the nonsense anymore.

At the time, I hadn’t been exposed to much YA paranormal. It’s like if you spend your entire life only eating fast food and processed microwaved meals, then one day you get a gourmet meal made from scratch. The House of Night was my fast food until I discovered other YA paranormals.

rsz_sookie-stackhouse

5) Southern Vampire Mysteries/True Blood by Charlaine Harris

I love these books until Dead in the Family. Charlaine Harris took a massive dump on this series and I don’t even want to talk about it. 😡

Leave a Reply

