books

Books I Didn’t Finish (DNF) in 2016

rsz_recently_updated2-1

If you like any of these books, please do not take this as a personal attack. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, and we all like/dislike different things!

  1. Into the Dim – DNF’d at 32%
    This was described as “Outlander for teens”, so I was eager to start this. Other than taking place in Scotland and having time travel, it was nothing like Outlander. It was more like Ruby Red, which I personally wasn’t a fan of.
  2. And I Darken – DNF’d at 41%
    An alternate retelling of the Ottoman Empire with insufferable characters and a slow plot.
  3. Passenger  – DNF’d around 1/3 of the way in (don’t remember the page)
    The first chapter should have been a sign I wasn’t going to like/finish this book. The book trailer made it look epic… It was an epic snoozefest.
  4. Addicted to You – DNF’d at 20%
    Just not my cup of tea.
  5. The Queen of the Tearling – DNF’d at 48%
    The first bit of the book was really good! Then it just got weird with the Red Queen and her sex slaves.
  6. That Summer – DNF’d a few chapters in
    I got a few chapters into this and couldn’t stop rolling my eyes and cringing. I also hate books about weddings.
  7. Six of Crows – DNF’d at 31%
    Too much talking and planning, not enough action.
  8. Red Rising – DNF’d at 39%
    Put The Uglies and The Hunger Games (both of which I love) on Mars, add some annoying characters, and you have Red Rising.
  9. Poison Study – DNF’d at 36%
    Had I not read Throne of Glass before this series (that SJM clearly ripped off), I probably would have appreciated it, but I kept picturing the main character as Celaena (who I hate).
  10. Lock and Key – DNF’d 125 pages in
    I was bored out of my mind.
  11. This Lullaby – DNF’d 92 pages in
    I couldn’t read another sentence uttered from Dexter’s creepy and annoying mouth.
Leave a Reply

