books

Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

recently-updated1

1) Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
I remember being SO excited for this book and eagerly waiting for it to come out! Anna and the French Kiss is one of my all time favourite books, and Lola and the Boy Next Door was really enjoyable as well. Both books were one day reads for me… But Isla and the Happily Ever After? I HATED Isla first of all. She was really annoying and creepy. Second, to me it felt like a whole other author wrote this book.

2) The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa
I devoured the first three Iron Fey books in March 2012, but I found The Iron Knight to be lacking. I honestly don’t remember why because this was before I started writing my thoughts on Goodreads or a blog. I think I had a hard time connecting to Ash’s point of view, for the most part? I definitely need to re-read this series some day.

3) Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
There was so much hype for this book, and everyone I trusted with books was telling me to read it. It’s one of the worst books I’ve ever read.

4) Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull
Fablehaven is one of my favourite series, but I had a lot of trouble trying to get into and connect with the last book.

5) Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
I don’t like Rowaelin at all, and the series just went downhill for me after this book.

rsz_recently_updated2

6) The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
This had a lot of hype when it first came out. The first third of the book had me intrigued, I’ve always loved the idea of alien invasion (when it comes to books/movies, not real life! haha). The rest of the book bored me to the point where I didn’t touch it for a week. It was repetitive, and the details about soldiers training and “romance” were bleh. 

7) The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
This was another book with a ton of hype when it came out. The book started out great! At the beginning everything was so frightening, and it held a lot of potential… Then after Ruby escaped it turned into a stereotypical YA dystopia.

8) The Giver by Lois Lowry
This is considered one of the best books in the past twenty years. I enjoyed the idea, but not the story.

9) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
The hype for this one was HUGE. Aside from how bored I was 99% of the time, my main issue was the violence and constant rape mention. I understand the world Tahir created is disgusting and violent, but I don’t like reading page long descriptions of people being beaten/tortured and douchebags talking about raping women for fun.

10) I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
After reading and loving The Book Thief in high school, I wanted to read I Am the Messenger. It took me months to read this book because it just didn’t grab me.

4 thoughts on “Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

Leave a Reply

