books

Books I Read Because of Their Covers

rsz_recently_updated1-1

Don’t hate. We all do it. 😛

I was drawn to The Wrath & the Dawn, Rebel of the Sands, and The Star-Touched Queen because I’m interested in Middle Eastern and South Asian culture, and thought it would be refreshing to read fantasy books that didn’t take place in an European based monarchy. The architectural design on Shadow and Bone drew me in as well. The cover for An Ember in the Ashes caught my eye because it was metallic and shiny… Haha. I didn’t even realize there was a castle on it until a few months ago.

I know a lot of people hate people on book covers, but The Kiss of Deception and The Winner’s Curse drew me in because of them. If you’ve never seen The Amulet of Samarkand in person, the hardcover edition has an iridescent cover. The Bone Witch has a purple cover, and purple is my favourite colour so I was drawn to that, and finally Cleopatra’s Daughter drew me in because of my fascination with Egypt.

Basically, make a cover shiny or add an Egyptian, or certain types of architecture and I will read the book.

One thought on “Books I Read Because of Their Covers

Leave a Reply

