book review

The Chaos of Longing by K.Y. Robinson

Goodreads Synopsis: The Chaos of Longing is a prose and poetry collection draped in raw honesty, ache, and eroticism. The collection explores trauma, love, heartbreak, and the realizations from it all.

The book is divided into four sections. “Inception” briefly examines formative years and its effects on how one loves. “Longing” reflects on love and sexuality. “Chaos” explores toxic relationships, unrequited love, and heartache. After chaos, there is order with self-love and healing poems in “epiphany”.

Some content may be triggering.

blogdivider_full_width

let me be
honest
with you

i do not
like
this new
poetry
trend

it reminds
me of
annoying texters
who blow up
your phone with
like 20 texts
instead of one

plus
9 times
out of 10
it doesn’t
really flow

it’s just a
random
burst of an
idea
with no
punch to
the feelios

I’m trying to find modern poetry I like, and I’m glad I got this for free on Amazon. If you have a Kindle and want to read it, let me know and I’ll lend it to you.

A lot of the poems are pretty similar, and they cover topics like sexual assault, sex, self-love, and a few on her cultural background. I didn’t read the description for this prior to getting it, so I felt pretty uncomfortable the entire time with all the sex and “rod” talk.

“my love for you
fondles the moon
and ejaculates in stars.
taste it.”

So weird…

2 thoughts on “The Chaos of Longing by K.Y. Robinson

Leave a Reply

