book review

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

thehammerofthor

Title: The Hammer of Thor
Series:
Magnus Chase and the Guards of Asgard (Book 2)
Author: Rick Riordan
Date Published: October 4, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Mythology, Fantasy
My Rating: tumblr_inline_nbptlpV9ce1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptlxaJcu1qdokuq tumblr_inline_nbptl5RKBV1qdokuq

Goodreads Synopsis: Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon – the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki – and the price he wants is very high.

blogdivider_full_width

The Hammer of Thor takes place shortly after the events of The Sword of Summer. I was kind of disappointed because the entire time I was reading the book, I felt like I had read it before, it was also kind of slow for me. All of Rick Riordan’s mythology books do use the same formula; kids trying to find an item to end the end of the world, with a dash of sarcasm, humor, and modern pop culture. I felt like there were WAY too many pop culture references in this book, and that he was trying too hard to be funny. It was funny when Kurt Cobain was brought up though.

Rick Riordan has a more diverse cast of characters in this book than all his previous books. There’s Hearthstone the deaf elf, Sam the Muslim, and in this book we’re introduced to Alex who is genderfluid. I like Hearthstone and Sam, but I’m not a fan of Alex. They were VERY irritating. I’m curious to see how parents are going to react since I think Rick Riordan is setting the stage for Alex and Magnus to be an item.

I’m not a huge fan of Magnus, to me he’s like an annoying and unfunny Percy Jackson ripoff, and his talking sword who somehow parties, goes on dates, and is up to date on top 40 music is kind of annoying.

Rick Riordan has proven with Piper, Hazel, and Sadie that he can write brilliant stories from the perspective of a strong female character, I really wish this series would have been told from Sam’s perspective. He has mentioned Aztecs in his past few books, so I think his next spin-off series is going to be about Aztec gods. Maybe he will have a female lead then? I hope so.

I’d like to see Rick Riordan explain how Greek/Roman, Egyptian, and Norse gods can all live in one world, and why one set of gods doesn’t stop the other set from trying to end the world. In The Hammer of Thor, Sam is the daughter of Loki, yet she is still a Muslim and believes in Allah. She says to Magnus, “They’re not gods, they’re just powerful entities.” In which Magnus replies, “I’m an atheist. I don’t believe in anything. And yet…this stuff is real. It’s some messed-up stuff, but it’s real.”

I’m glad this is only a three book series, and it looks like we’re going to see Percy Jackson in the next book!

One thought on “The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

