anime · blogging · books

April Wrap-Up

As you’ve probably noticed, I’m still not reading very much due to a slump!

In April, I read 123 pages of Midnighers: The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld before marking it DNF. The book just wasn’t gripping me the way I wanted it to, and reminded me a lot of L.J. Smith. I feel really weird about not finishing a Scott Westerfeld book since I loved Uglies and Leviathan so much. I bought the entire trilogy on Thriftbooks too. 😦

After DNFing The Secret Hour, I read and listened to Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan (read my review here), and a novella called Lalibela’s Wise Man by Matshona Dhliwayo (review).

I then picked up The Fall of Lucifer by Wendy Alec and read 25 or so pages before wanting to pull my hair out due to the descriptions.

On the 30th, I started Peeps by Scott Westerfeld and read around 40 pages before realizing A Court of Wings and Ruin would be coming out soon, and it was kind of stupid of me to start a book before a highly anticipated book was released! I just finished the first part of A Court of Wings and Ruin and O-M-G.

If Sarah J Maas wasn’t on the title for ACOTAR and Throne of Glass, I would think they were written by different authors. ACOTAR is sooo much better than Throne of Glass. They are on completely different levels.

AOT2

The long-awaited season two of Attack on Titan aired April 1. I haven’t had cable for very long, and I keep forgetting that Adult Swim has anime. I’ve been watching the show in Japanese. I really hate the dubbed version! The voice actors don’t match, especially Hange. Hange’s gender is never mentioned in the manga, and the voice actor in English is so feminine.

I thought this season would drag on a bit because of the story arc, but it’s going super fast. I’m kind of sad there’s going to be less episodes this season than the first season! I hope we don’t have to wait years for the third season.

May plans? Try to get over this stupid slump.

3 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. I haven’t read any of SJM’s books, and after some things that I have seen on social media about her failure to address problematic content in her books I don’t think I’m going to read any of her books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

